LEARNING FROM NATURE

MY VISION

"I grew up on the fringes of the Salzkammergut region, THE idyllic summer retreat in Austria where beautiful lakes nestle among rugged mountain ranges. People come here to experience the purifying, energising effect of the plants, minerals and clean water of the Alps, and they leave with a deep sense of freedom and well-being.

Right from the start, my vision as the co-founder and developer of Less is More has been defined by my deep relationship with the beauty and ingenuity of nature. My decision to study chemistry with a special focus on biomimetics can also be traced back to my love of nature. When we study nature, we discover sophisticated mechanisms and active ingredients that, having been optimised by evolution, combine sustainability and potency with breathtaking beauty. Nature is simultaneously complex and efficient. And this is where I find the inspiration for Less in More products."

DR. DORIS BRANDHUBER

Co-Founder & Developer of Less is More

THE ESSENTIAL
MATTERS

By focusing on what is essential, Less is More reconciles our needs with those of the wider world.

ORGANIC

Our sustainable organic cosmetics meet the requirements of the COSMOS standard and are certified with the COSMOS Organic label. This means that we support small and regional quality manufacturers, who supply us with carefully produced premium raw materials.

FUNCTIONAL

A synergy of science, cosmetology and expertise in aromatherapy, our highly effective products are easy to use and deliver outstanding results.


SOCIAL

By operating in a socially just, future-oriented and transparent way, we take responsibility for both current and future generations. That’s why we have been a certified B-Corp since 2017.


BEAUTIFUL

Beauty isn’t an ideal or a target. It’s something we experience with our senses and our hearts. Our organic cosmetics promote beauty through health.

MEET OUR FOUNDERS

Dr. Doris Brandhuber, Chemist & Aromatherapist

Her fascination for creation, transformation and for designs and materials that shape the future led Dr. Doris Brandhuber to study chemistry. As a long-time yoga student with a deep passion for the environment, biomimicry was a natural choice of specialty. This interdisciplinary field systematically generates products with optimized benefits by emulating the structure and functioning of nature.

The postgraduate chemist, who also worked as an environmental consultant, not only focused intensely on composition, but also on the health and environmental aspects of modern cosmetics. When Less is More was set up, it was clear that only the development of her own line of products would be able to live up to her ambition of providing healthy and honest hair cosmetics in the best possible way. The chemist declined a research fellowship at Yale and focused on creating formulations for Less is More instead. Today Dr. Doris Brandhuber is a trained aromatherapist and has extensive experience in the field of organic cosmetics.

HANNES TRUMMER, HAIRSTYLIST & TRAINER

Hannes Trummer opened a small salon with big ambitions in the centre of Vienna in 2005. Previously, he had graduated from the Master School of Painting in Graz and had worked successfully as an Artistic Director and Staff Trainer at a renowned international hairdressing chain. His intensive study of the Feldenkrais Method (Awareness Through Movement) and his claim to focus on the client and the client’s needs prompted him to develop the Less is More idea: That the need for space to evolve is accommodated through a reduction to the essential.

The Less is More concept was implemented for the first time in the salon itself. This is expressed, for example, in the highly minimalistic architecture and store design with the client and the client’s mirror image serving as the only decoration. A calm and harmonious atmosphere makes it possible to find space and time to realise the personal taste of the client through an acceptance of the client‘s own style, technical expertise and a fine sense of aesthetics. As CEO of minusplus, the flagship stores of Less is More, he was instrumental in the development of the minusplus method – a unique haircut and training concept for body, mind and soul.

SUSTAINABILITY AS A WHOLE

COMPANY CERTIFICATION. B CORP - CERTIFIED B CORPORATION

Since 2017, Less is More has been one of the first companies in Austria to receive a B CORP certification. B Corps are certified by the B Lab according to strict standards regarding their performance, their responsibility and their transparency in social as well as environmental aspects.

We envision a global economy that uses business as a force for good. This economy is comprised of a new type of corporation – the B Corporation – which is purpose-driven and creates benefit for all stakeholders, not just shareholders.

AS B CORPORATIONS AND LEADERS OF THIS EMERGING ECONOMY, WE BELIEVE:

... that we must be the change we seek in the world.

... that all business ought to be conducted as if people and place mattered.

... that, through their products, practices, and profits, businesses should aspire to do no harm and benefit all.

to do so requires that we act with the understanding that we are each dependent upon another and thus responsible for each other and future generations.

VON DER NATUR LERNEN

MEINE VISION

"Ich bin am Rande des Salzkammerguts aufgewachsen. DAS Refugium für die Sommerfrische, landschaftlich geprägt durch unzählige wunderschöne Seen inmitten einer schroffen Bergwelt. Hier erlebt man unmittelbar, wie sauberes Wasser, die Pflanzen und Mineralien der Alpen Reinheit, Freiheit, Erfrischung und Geborgenheit spenden.

Meine Vision als Mitbegründerin und Entwicklerin von Less is More wird seit jeher von dieser tiefen Beziehung zur Schönheit und Raffinesse der Natur geleitet. Sie hat mich auch in das Studium der Chemie geführt, wo ich in der Biomimetik mein Spezialgebiet gefunden habe: im Studium der Natur findet man - durch die Evolution optimierte - ausgefeilte Funktionsweisen und Wirkstoffe, die sich durch ihre Nachhaltigkeit, ihre Wirksamkeit und ihre atemberaubende Schönheit auszeichnen. Komplex und effizient zugleich. Und genau hier finde ich die Inspiration für die Entwicklung der Produkte von Less is More."

DR. DORIS BRANDHUBER

Mitbegründerin & Entwicklerin von Less is More

DIE BEDEUTUNG
DES WESENTLICHEN

Less is More stellt das Wesentliche in die Mitte und vereinigt dabei die Bedürfnisse der Menschen mit den Anliegen der Welt.

BIO

Wir bieten nachhaltige Biokosmetik, die mit dem Label COSMOS Organic gemäß COSMOS Standardzertifiziert ist. Damit unterstützen wir kleine und regionale Qualitätshersteller, die mit Sorgfalt feinste Rohstoffe produzieren.

FUNKTIONAL

Durch das Zusammenspiel von Naturwissenschaft, Kosmetiker:innen und Aromatherapiekompetenz sind die Produkte hochwirksam und sorgen für optimale Anwendbarkeit und Ergebnisse.


SOZIAL

Wir übernehmen durch sozial faires, zukunftsorien­tiertes, transparentes Handeln Verantwortung für die jetzige und zukünftige Generationen. Seit 2017 ist das Unternehmen deshalb auch als B­Corp zertifiziert.


SCHÖN

Schönheit ist kein Ideal, keine Vorgabe, sondern eine Erfahrung der Sinne und des Herzens. Mit unserer Biokosmetik steht für uns Schönheit durch Gesundheit im Vordergrund.

UNSERE GRÜNDER

DR. DORIS BRANDHUBER, CHEMIKERIN & AROMATHERAPEUTIN

Ihre Faszination für Kreation, Transformation und für Designs und Materialien, welche die Zukunft formen, führt Doris Brandhuber in die Chemie. Als langjährige Yogaschülerin mit einer ausgeprägten Leidenschaft für die Umwelt findet sie in der Biomimetik ihr Spezialgebiet. Der interdisziplinäre Bereich generiert systematisch Produkte von optimiertem Nutzen, indem er sich Aufbau und Funktionsweisen der Natur zum Vorbild nimmt.

Zwischenzeitlich als Umweltreferentin tätig befasst sich die promovierte Chemikerin nicht nur intensiv mit der Zusammensetzung, sondern insbesondere mit den Gesundheits- und Umweltaspekten moderner Kosmetik. Bei der Gründung von Less is More wird schnell klar, dass nur die Entwicklung einer eigenen Linie ihrem Anspruch an eine gesunde und ehrliche Haarkosmetik bestmöglich gerecht wird. Die Chemikerin verzichtet auf ein Forschungsstipendium für Yale und kreiert stattdessen Rezepturen für Less is More. Heute ist Doris Brandhuber ausgebildete Aromatherapeutin und verfügt über umfassende Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet der Biokosmetik.

HANNES TRUMMER, HAIRSTYLIST & TRAINER

Hannes Trummer eröffnete 2005 einen kleinen Friseursalon mit großen Ambitionen im Zentrum von Wien. Zuvor hatte er die Meisterschule für Malerei in Graz absolviert und war bei einer renommierten internationalen Friseurkette sehr erfolgreich als Art Director und Staff-Trainer tätig gewesen. Seine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit der Feldenkrais Methode (Bewusstheit durch Bewegung) und sein Anspruch, den Kunden und dessen Bedürfnisse in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen, hatten ihn veranlasst, die Idee „Less is More“ zu entwickeln: Durch die Reduktion auf das Wesentliche soll dem Bedürfnis nach Raum für Entfaltung Rechnung getragen werden.

Mit seinem Salon schafft er die erste Realisierung des Less is More-Konzepts. Dieses findet beispielsweise in der sehr reduzierten Architektur und Ladengestaltung Ausdruck, in der einzig der Kunde und sein Spiegelbild als Dekoration fungieren. In ruhiger, harmonischer Atmosphäre finden sich Raum und Zeit, um mittels Akzeptanz des kundeneigenen Stils, technischem Knowhow und Feingefühl für Ästhetik den persönlichen Geschmack des Kunden umzusetzen. Als CEO von minusplus, den Flagshipstores von Less is More, war er maßgeblich an der Entwicklung der minusplus-Methode beteiligt – einem einzigartigen Schnitt- und Trainingskonzept für Körper, Geist und Seele.

NACHHALTIG IM GANZEN

UNTERNEHMENSZERTIFIZIERUNG. B CORP - ZERTIFIZIERTE B CORPORATION

Seit 2017 zählt Less is More zu den ersten Unternehmen Österreichs, die eine B CORP Zertifizierung erhalten haben. B Corps werden durch das B Lab nach strengen Standards hinsichtlich ihrer Leistung, ihrer Verantwortlichkeit und ihrer Transparenz in sozialen sowie Umweltaspekten zertifiziert.

Wir stellen uns eine globale Wirtschaft vor, die Unternehmen als eine Kraft für das Gute nutzt. Diese Wirtschaft besteht aus einer neuen Art von Unternehmen - der B Corporation - die zweckorientiert ist und Nutzen für alle Stakeholder schafft, nicht nur für die Aktionäre.

ALS B-CORPORATIONS UND FÜHRER DIESER AUFSTREBENDEN WIRTSCHAFT GLAUBEN WIR:

... dass wir die Veränderung sein müssen, die wir in der Welt suchen.

... dass alle Geschäfte so geführt werden sollten, dass die Menschen und der Ort eine Rolle spielen.

... dass Unternehmen durch ihre Produkte, Praktiken und Gewinne keinen Schaden anrichten und allen zugute kommen sollen.

Dies erfordert, dass wir mit dem Verständnis handeln, dass wir alle voneinander abhängig sind und somit Verantwortung füreinander und für künftige Generationen tragen.